Rhubarb | First Shoots Are Up

I’ve been keeping a close eye on the garden for the first signs of life. We have a winner! Rhubarb is sending up shoots of tightly curled leaves. Those other leaves are some sort of weed. They are suffering the effect of temperatures in the mid-20s last night. The rhubarb was not harmed.

rhubarb

I also defrosted the extra freezer downstairs this week. There were three containers of frozen rhubarb pieces from the crop last year. Looks like I need to make another pie. Last weekend I made a pie from some of last year’s frozen rhubarb. I added blueberries, red raspberries, and blackberries.

Angie at Fiesta Friday found out and wondered why I didn’t share it with the others at her blog. “Too busy”, I told her. Lucky for me, I took a picture of it. My cousin said it looked very patriotic with the red, white, and blue colors. Those stripes were from the leftover dough trimmed off the rim of the baking dish. It wouldn’t win any prizes at the state fair for looks. But, it tasted marvelous. It only took Melanie and I three days to eat it.

2015_0322Pie

If you are curious about my techniques for harvesting, cutting, freezing, and ultimately, what recipe I use, go to this previous post. All the details are there. Here is the printable recipe form.

Gramma Brown's Rhubarb Pie

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Time: Less than 1 hr
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 3 C of cleaned and sliced rhubarb. Add some berries if you wish.
  • 1.5  C of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 T of flour
  • 1 pie dough pre-made from store or make your own

Directions

Preheat oven to 425˚ and line a pie pan with dough.

Cover the rhubarb and berries with 1/2 C of sugar and set the bowl aside.

In another bowl, combine the remaining sugar, flour, and eggs. Stir to mix.

Combine the two bowls of ingredients and stir to mix.

Pour into the prepared pie pan.

Bake for 30 minutes on center rack.

Let cool completely before serving to let it firm up.

29 thoughts on “Rhubarb | First Shoots Are Up

  1. shoreacres

    Strawberry-rhubarb was our go-to combination, too. Sometimes Mom would try a straight rhubarb pie early in the season, but it was a little too tart for me. The best thing about rhubarb is that, once the leaves have become really big, they make wonderful hats.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. jimfetig

        This will be our third summer at this house — still working on the landscaping. We still have a lot of thinning to do. Next summer may be our first garden. Saw plenty of wild rhubarb along the AT. Just couldn’t cook it.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Jim in IA Post author

      That looks quite delicious. I think it would be good with coffee or warmed and with ice cream. I will add it to some other rhubarb recipes.

      Thank you for the visit. I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Angie

    There’s the patriotic pie! My rhubarb is not up yet. It’s a pretty bad kind. As soon as it shoots up, it wants to flower. Can you eat the flower stalk? And it’s green, not the pretty red. I need to plant another kind! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
      1. Angie

        Thanks! It’s bolting AND revolting, in every sense of the word :D. I feel better now that I know I can eat the flower stalk. Happens to be the biggestt of all the stalks!

        Like

      2. Angie

        I think that was my first mistake. Could never hack flowers! I cut them only to use in my arrangements. They looked so cool! 🙂

        Like

      3. Jim in IA Post author

        Sounds like you have some choices to make. Maybe there is a compromise. Cut the stalk. Cut the flower part off for a vase. Eat the stalk.

        It might be hard at first. I don’t know. My rhubarb never blooms.

        Like

Comments welcome

