Chicken Posole Stew

Loosely based on traditional posole recipes, my rich chicken stew takes advantage of summer ingredients. But because so many summer ingredients freeze well, you can enjoy this hearty soup any time of year.

DSCN2860

When I cook soup, I have ONE rule: use approximately as much liquid as solid. That has a fudge factor, of course. Use less liquid when you want it thicker and more when you want it thinner. This simple rule has served me very well, and served my household many years of delicious soups.

The “recipe” below is very loose, filled with approximations and guesses. I did not measure anything here. Using the rule above, it has somewhat less liquid than solid.

Chicken Posole Stew
3/4 – 1 pound cooked chicken, diced into small bites
4 – 6 cups chicken stock
(I roasted my chicken on Tuesday and made my stock from the carcass.)
1 carrot diced
1 onion diced small
(My onion was a summer CSA onion, diced and frozen.)
1/2 zucchini diced
1/2 yellow squash diced
2 medium tomatoes peeled, seeded, and diced, with juice if possible
(My tomatoes were from our garden, processed and frozen. You could use a can of diced tomatoes instead, including the juice.)
1 cup corn and black bean salsa
(This was also from the summer — fresh from the field sweet corn and tomatoes. You could substitute jarred salsa, or frozen corn separately. Or leave it out.)
2 hot peppers seeded and diced tiny
(I used a jalapeno and a Hungarian pepper, both from our garden and frozen. You could use a bell pepper but you’d lose the zing.)
1 can white hominy, drained

In large pot heat fat (I used bacon grease and a little canola oil) to saute carrot. Add onion, zucchini and squash, tomatoes, corn salsa, and peppers. Add chicken stock and let it hang out, simmering until the vegetables soften. Add diced chicken and drained hominy. Heat until hot through.

Note — I didn’t add any other seasonings. I didn’t add salt. I didn’t add pepper. I didn’t add cumin or oregano or cilantro or anything. You could. But taste it first to see if you really want it. If you like it hot, you might want another jalapeno, or even two.

Serve with corn bread. Make sure you have lots of butter and honey available for the corn bread. You may want a beer with it, too!

21 thoughts on “Chicken Posole Stew

  1. shoreacres

    Your soup is very much like one I make. I’ll be glad when it finally cools off enough that soup sounds good. I’ve had my fill of gazpacho, and am ready for more traditionally autumn fare.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I never made it before — in fact, never had it before. It was very good. The broth was rich, complex, full of all those fresh vegetables and homemade chicken stock. I will do this again, for sure.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Hilda

    Having just now finished freezing my assortment of hot peppers, this soup looks particularly inviting. And I need to use some of the peppers! Cornbread and beer to accompany it sounds perfect.

    Like

    Reply
  3. chefjulianna

    Yum! This is a big bowl of satisfaction! My husband and I have taken to eating soup for dinner almost all winter long, so this one is on my list to make! Thanks so much for bringing it to FF! 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      If you’re a regular soup maker, my “rule” probably seems pretty familiar. Load it up with great fresh veggies and a high-quality stock. It’s hard to go wrong. And yeah baby! It was satisfying, very hearty. No need for another entree with this one.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Kaila511

    This looks delicious and simple. I just made a cornbread that I love, so I’ll have to make a soup to accompany it as well. Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      It was easy. Hardest part was done days before, with roasting the chicken and making stock. You can shortcut that of course by using any precooked chicken, like a rotisserie chicken, and some decent canned broth.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Pingback: The Impossible Chocoflan | Fiesta Friday #38 | The Novice Gardener

Comments welcome

