Lunar Eclipse | 8 October 2014 | Tetrad Part 2

How I See It

I left the house a little after 5 AM and drove the half mile to my usual dark location on the north side of town. The sky was clear and seeing was good. The Moon, low in the western sky, was already well into the partial phase of eclipse. Totality was going to occur in 10 minutes. The Sun was still not showing any sign of twilight to the east. I scanned the sky for familiar constellations. Orion was high to the south. As I looked back toward the darkening Moon, a meteor passed. That might be a good omen I thought.

I set up the camera and tripod, tried a few test exposures, and decided which settings I would use. I have a Fuji FinePix s602z that is 12 yrs old. It isn’t fancy. I come from the old school of manual cameras and film. This camera gives me a lot of…

View original post 620 more words

Comments welcome

